Sneak Previews-Overlooked Classics...

Rate this video
11,731 views

Quick Share

Send VideoCopy and paste above link into an email or instant message

Comments (17)

Christopher Zeidel (6 years ago)
0
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
I recently watched Straight Time on Netflix streaming and I was not impressed. I thought it was confused. It starts out making you think that Hoffman was not such a bad guy and that he was the victim of a corrupt system. Eventually, Hoffman comes off as being truly evil and you all of a sudden start hating him and wishing he were back in prison. The film was never clear whether he was evil or not, or whether we should hate him or not. I was not sure what to think of his character. This uncertainty frustrated me.
tom (7 years ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
Christopher, you inadvertently made Gene Siskel’s point. You wouldn’t allow the movie to tell its own story to you.
lwilson19 (7 years ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
I wrote a research paper on Night Moves, and I would recommend it to any noir fan!
booharv1 (6 years ago)
+1
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
Jennifer Warren was ultra s*xy in Night Moves. I mean hot in a grown woman way, not like some of the kids that you normally see runniing around Hollywood.
blake (5 years ago)
+1
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
Absolutely. In real life there’s no such thing as categorically "evil" or "good" people (besides Adolf Hitler and Mother Teresa, perhaps), and the most interesting movie characters are the ones that acknowledge how complicated it is to be human.
gradepoint (6 years ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
I saw the Sorcerer based on this review recently, and I have to admit I wasn’t as impressed as Roger. Actually the Sorcerer is basically a remake of "Wages of Fear", which in my opinion is much better.
doug (4 years ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
night moves is verrry good
Soulo_Guero (2 years ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
I understand Sorcerer was released one month after Star Wars. A formidable shadow was cast.
online (6 months ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
Hello!
[URL=http://onlinepharmacydiscount4.com/]cheap online pharmacy[/URL] , [URL=http://www.domyhomework4.com/]do my homework[/URL] ,
viagra (6 months ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
Hello!
[URL=http://genericviagranpx.com/]buy viagra online[/URL] ,
generic_viagra (5 months ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
Hello!
[URL=http://www.orderv2o.com/]order viagra[/URL] , [URL=http://via2professional.com/]viagra professional[/URL] , [URL=http://www.viagrarxp.com/]generic viagra[/URL] ,
Matt (5 months ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
Sorcerer isn’t a remake of Wages of Fear. Friedkin has even disputed this. Both are inspired by the same source novel. Sorcerer doesn’t even have the same tone much less characterization in Wages of Fear. Two largely different movies with a superficial similarity of guys driving trucks.
viagra (5 months ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
Hello!
[URL=http://cheapxcialis.com/]buy cialis[/URL] , [URL=http://paydayloanxz.com/]same day loans[/URL] , [URL=http://loansolofast.com/]payday loans online[/URL] , [URL=http://genericxviagra.com/]viagra[/URL] ,
viagra (4 months ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
Hello!
[URL=http://buygviagraonline.com/]viagra[/URL] ,
viagra (4 months ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
Hello!
[URL=http://viagrasoftrxtabs.com/]viagra cheap[/URL] , [URL=http://v2indian.com/]generic viagra india pharmacy[/URL] ,
online_loans (2 months ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
Hello!
[URL=http://loanpaydayok.com/]payday loan cash loan[/URL] , [URL=http://nofaxpaydaynvz.com/]faxless payday loan[/URL] , [URL=http://genericialisabuy.com/]online cialis[/URL] , [URL=http://bestsololoan.com/]faxless payday loan[/URL] , [URL=http://fastcashisok.com/]online loans[/URL] ,
cialis_online (2 months ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
Hello!
[URL=http://viagrasoftrxtabs.com/]viagra[/URL] , [URL=http://paydayfastnowz.com/]payday loans[/URL] , [URL=http://loansolobest.com/]payday loans[/URL] , [URL=http://soloadvance.com/]payday loans[/URL] , [URL=http://cialisrx.com/]cialis online[/URL] ,

Comment on this video


gradepoint
7 years ago
(toggle info)
...of the 1970s. Roger picks The Sorcerer, Night Moves, and Images, and Gene picks The Late Show, Straight Time, and Mean Streets as movies that were critical successes, but box office flops....

More from gradepoint

At the Movies 1983-Adult Sexuality
30:50
Quicklist
At the Movies 1984-Movies That Changed the Movies
33:01
Quicklist
Pink Floyd the Wall, The Long Good Friday, Lola (1982)
34:21
Quicklist
Movies We’d Book If We Owned a Movie Theater
33:02
Quicklist
At the Movies-Best of 1982
33:05
Quicklist
16,021 Views
At the Movies-Stinkers of 1982
33:36
Quicklist
27,767 Views
At the Movies-Winners That Were Losers
32:12
Quicklist
10,890 Views
Dueling Critics (1983)
33:34
Quicklist
At the Movies 1983-Pryor to Murphy
33:08
Quicklist

Related Videos

1978 Oscar Picks - Sneak Previews
30:10
Quicklist
Movies We’d Book If We Owned a Movie Theater
33:02
Quicklist
Sneak Previews-Guilty Pleasures
28:35
Quicklist
20,461 Views
Sneak Previews-Best of the 1970s
28:49
Quicklist
23,745 Views
Sneak Previews-1978 Oscar Preview (One Hour Version)
57:52
Quicklist
5,995 Views
Special Siskel & Ebert - Best Films of the Early 1970s. (1994)
20:58
Quicklist
The Hot Spot, Mr. Destiny, Memphis Belle (1990)
19:14
Quicklist
Sneak Previews - The Best Films of 1978 (1979)
23:59
Quicklist
Powered by ClipBucket 2.0.91 | Arslan Hassan