Sneak Previews-Best of the 1970s

Rate this video
13,092 views

Quick Share

Send VideoCopy and paste above link into an email or instant message

Comments (25)

Christopher Zeidel (1 year ago)
+4
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
It is funny when Roger Ebert says, "I’d like to do a film festival." Can we say EBERTFEST!!!
Julian McBam (4 years ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
If I’m not mistaken, Gene changed his view on Apocalypse Now later on, right? One of the few times I’ve disagreed with him.
iansean (3 years ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
Yes, he said on the 500th anniversary Special that he would have recomended Apocalypse Now ten years later. Oddly enough however, he liked the 1991 documentary Hearts of Darkness (about the production of Apocalypse Now) even more, naming it his choice for best film of that year!
Iker89 (3 years ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
The Godfather, Apocalypse Now and A Clockwork Orange are the 3 best movies of the 70s
Jerry Roberts (3 years ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
I went this year for the first time. It was the time of my life.
DistingFlyer (1 year ago)
+1
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
I’m a little surprised that Ebert didn’t mention the Last Picture Show, but even more surprised at Siskel’s omission of Nashville.
Archer (3 years ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
My Top Ten

10. Jaws
9. Superman: The Movie
8. A Clockwork Orange
7. Deliverance
6. Star Wars
5. The Conformist
4. Barry Lyndon
3. The Exorcist
2. The Godfather Part II
1. The Godfather
Yojimmy (3 years ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
Roger’s no. 1 pick for the Sight and Sound list was Aguirre,the Wrath of God, which was released in 1972 . Why didn’t this list contain it ?
ebertfan788 (3 years ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
1. Taxi Driver
2. The Godfather & The Godfather Part II
3. Jaws
4. Rocky
5. Apocalypse Now
6. One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest
7. The Deer Hunter
8. Star Wars
9. Chinatown
10. a tie between Network and Annie Hall
Derek (3 years ago)
-2
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
1."Céline et Julie vont en bateau" (1974) Dir: Jacques Rivette
2."The Holy Mountain" (1973) Dir: Alejandro Jodorowsky
3."Stroszek" (1977) Dir: Werner Herzog
4."In einem Jahr mit 13 Monden" (1978) Dir: Rainer Werner Fassbinder
5."Beyond the Valley of the Dolls" (1970) Dir: Russ Meyer
6."Ultimo tango a Parigi" (1972) Dir: Bernardo Bertolucci
7."Trash" (1970) Dir: Paul Morrissey
8."Rengoku eroica" (1970) Dir: Yoshishige Yoshida
9."L’ important c’est d’aimer" (1975) Dir: Andrzej Zulawski
10."The Long Goodbye" (1973) Dir: Robert Altman
Dan (3 years ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
Here is my Best of the 1970’s List:
A Clockwork Orange (1971)
Last Tango in Paris (1972)
The Godfather (1972)
The Godfather, Part II (1974)
Apocalypse Now (1979)
Chinatown (1974)
The Deer Hunter (1978)
The Last Picture Show (1971)
Cries and Whispers (1972)
Nashville (1975)
TheJAMMan (3 years ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
I know I was born in 1988, but, my top 10 best movies are:

1. The Spy Who Loved Me (1977)
2. The Destructors (1974)
3. A Clockwork Orange (1971)
4. Rocky (1976)
5. Chinatown (1974)
6. Grease (1978)
7. Nashville (1975)
8. Valentino (1977)
9. Halloween (1978)
10. Deliverance (1972)
Jon (1 year ago)
+1
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
Chinatown
The Conversation
Godfather, Parts 1 and 2
Nashville
The French Connection
Annie Hall
Mon Oncle Antoine
Days of Heaven
The Last Picture Show
Close Encounters of the Third Kind
The Long Goodbye

Runners-up:
Night Moves
Jaws
Le Cercle Rouge
Alien
Three Days of the Condor
stev (3 years ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
best decade for movies
techiegirum (3 years ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
My List For The Best Films Of The 70’s
1.The Godfather 1 & 2
2.Taxi Driver
3.Chinatown
4.Jaws
5.Rocky
6.Star Wars
7.A Clockwork Orange
8.Superman
9.The Last Picture Show
10.Nashville
B.R. (3 years ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
B.R.’s picks

1. Nashville
2. Night Moves
3. Taxi Driver
4. Lenny
5. 3 Women
6. Apocalypse Now
7. Close Encounters Of The Third Kind
8. Jaws
9. MASH
10. The Conversation
Siskelfan (3 years ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
I love this!!! Thank you gradepoint!!
gradepoint (2 years ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
You’re most welcome Siskelfan.
swatch71 (2 years ago)
+1
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
I’ll throw in:

Close Encounters of the Third Kind
Alien
The China Syndrome
Apocalypse Now
The Conversation
Superman
Chinatown
Cries and Whispers
American Graffiti
Star Wars
Xenugears (1 year ago)
+1
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
My picks...
1. The Duellists and Alien (Ridley Scott--I can’t choose just one)
2. The Man Who Would Be King (Huston)
3. Barry Lyndon (Kubrick)
4. Jaws (tried to keep Spielberg off the list but, come on, it’s Jaws!)
5. Bring Me the Head of Alfredo Garcia (Peckinpah)
6. The Conversation (Coppola)
7. Carnal Knowledge (Nichols)
8. Aguirre Wrath of God (Herzog)
9. Monty Python and the Holy Grail (Gilliam/Jones)
10. Phantom of the Paradise (De Palma)
11. Walkabout (Roeg)
12. Star Wars
Keith Allison (2 years ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
"I think Allen will become one of the great directors of the ’80s. I think he’s still growing as a filmmaker."

Good call there, Roger.
58panorama (2 years ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
Although I can’t yet compile my own Best-of-1970s list, I can say that I agree with Gene & Roger on the following films very worthy of their decade:

The Sorrow and the Pity
58panorama (2 years ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
And now to continue my list of films with which I agree with Siskel & Ebert before I inadvertently cut myself off: Annie Hall
An Unmarried Woman
Appocalypse Now
Breaking Away
The Godfather I & II
The Conversation
The Last Detail
Saturday Night Fever(a perfect time-capsule entry)
Nashville
Days of Heaven
Cries & Whispers

The one film I have trouble accepting as a Best-of-’70s entry is "Last Tango in Paris" which I think of as a gay movie in straight drag.
58panorama (2 years ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
BTW, Gene wasn’t kidding when he said that "The Emigrants" & "The New Land" were forgotten back then.
Now they aren’t mentioned in any breath today, and they aren’t available on either DVD or Blu-Ray; however, I do fondly remember seeing "The Emigrants" on the A&E channel in the mid-1980s.
TheRedBaron1985 (1 month ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
My Top 40 Picks of the 1970s:

The French Connection
Grease
Saturday Night Fever
Jaws
Bugsy Malone
The Godfather 1 & 2
Mean Streets
Taxi Driver
National Lampoon’s Animal House
Apocalypse Now
Alien
Star Wars
Close Encounters of the Third Kind
Charlotte’s Web
Annie Hall
Sleeper
Monty Python and the Holy Grail
Meatballs
The Conversation
Halloween
Rocky 1 & 2
A Clockwork Orange
Phantom of the Paradise
Suspria
Carrie
M*A*S*H
Robin & Marian
Chinatown
American Graffiti
Deliverance
The Exorcist
Network
The Deer Hunter
Midnight Express
Coma
The China Syndrome
Breaking Away
and
Superman

Comment on this video

Please login to comment
gradepoint
4 years ago
(toggle info)
Gene and Roger reveal their picks for the decades best. At this time they do not assign any numbering to their picks, it is simply their top ten, in no particular order.
Gene picks the...

More from gradepoint

At the Movies 1983-Adult Sexuality
30:50
Quicklist
At the Movies 1984-Movies That Changed the Movies
33:01
Quicklist
Pink Floyd the Wall, The Long Good Friday, Lola (1982)
34:21
Quicklist
Movies We’d Book If We Owned a Movie Theater
33:02
Quicklist
At the Movies-Best of 1982
33:05
Quicklist
7,916 Views
At the Movies-Stinkers of 1982
33:36
Quicklist
15,253 Views
At the Movies-Winners That Were Losers
32:12
Quicklist
6,607 Views
Dueling Critics (1983)
33:34
Quicklist
At the Movies 1983-Pryor to Murphy
33:08
Quicklist

Related Videos

1978 Oscar Picks - Sneak Previews
30:10
Quicklist
At the Movies 1984-The Doctors Are In
32:16
Quicklist
Actors on Acting (1991)
44:46
Quicklist
Sneak Previews-Overlooked Classics...
29:42
Quicklist
5,874 Views
Sneak Previews-Guilty Pleasures
28:35
Quicklist
11,770 Views
Sneak Previews-1978 Oscar Preview (One Hour Version)
57:52
Quicklist
3,214 Views
At the Movies - Is Hollywood Selling War to Kids? (1985)
00:01
Quicklist
Special Siskel & Ebert - Best Films of the Early 1970s. (1994)
20:58
Quicklist
The Godfather Part III / Kindergarten Cop (1990)
21:02
Quicklist
Powered by ClipBucket 2.0.91 | Arslan Hassan