Sneak Previews-Going to the Movies

Rate this video
7,242 views

Quick Share

Send VideoCopy and paste above link into an email or instant message

Comments (10)

KevinKlawitter (3 years ago)
+2
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
I love the image of them reading each others’ newspapers. It give off a kind of Citizen Kane-esque vibe.
Christopher Zeidel (6 years ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
Coolest and most fascinating episode ever. You guys (Brian and Larry) are the best.
firstmagnitude (3 years ago)
+2
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
Brian found a treasure chest for sure!
robatsea (6 years ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
One of my favorite episodes. In those pre-VCR days I taped the audio of this, one of several I day - so being able to watch it again after 30 years is a true pleasure.
clem0822 (6 years ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
That was wonderful,really enjoyed the behind the scenes glimpse. I feel it was a plus, that it ended up being a picture both Gene and Roger didn’t agree on. It enhanced the look inside what goes into each of these legends incredible work. Thanks for sharing, keep them coming.
goldiechick (5 years ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
Just saw this episode on "Ebert Presents." This month, Christy Lemire and the young man I call Iggy V. (I could never get his name right) are presenting the best of Siskel and Ebert on their "Sneak Previews" days. Lots of nostalgia. Sentimental types may want to get out their handkerchiefs.
Cinesea (5 years ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
I have two tracks while I’m watching this episode: On one track, I’m intrigued by the process these two go through to review a movie. On the other track, I’m fascinated by what I see, including the wardrobe, ’set design’, hairstyles and the long shots without an edit.

I love watching these old episodes!
Georgie (3 years ago)
+1
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
This is pretty awesome
Packman1294 (2 years ago)
+1
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
This is one of my favorite episodes, probably watched it three or four times now. Extremely cool seeing a little behind the scenes of what goes on in the reviewing process of Siskel and Ebert. Neat little popcorn shop visited by Gene, wonder if it’s still there.
Checked out the Chicago Theatre on CinemaTreasures.org, and found out it was opened in 1921 and renovated in 1986 to it’s 1930s appearance, and is still open today hosting concerts and live entertainment and an occasional movie for the Chicago Film Festival.
swatch71 (3 years ago)
Thumbs Down
Thumbs Up
Wow, I had never seen this one before. A great find, and I love the "backstage" looks.

Comment on this video

Please login to comment
gradepoint
6 years ago
(toggle info)
This episode is both a lot of fun, and fascinating to watch as we not only get to see the movie reviewing process, but also what it was like back then, working at their newspaper jobs. Very old...

More from gradepoint

At the Movies 1983-Adult Sexuality
30:50
Quicklist
At the Movies 1984-Movies That Changed the Movies
33:01
Quicklist
Pink Floyd the Wall, The Long Good Friday, Lola (1982)
34:21
Quicklist
Movies We’d Book If We Owned a Movie Theater
33:02
Quicklist
At the Movies-Best of 1982
33:05
Quicklist
13,777 Views
At the Movies-Stinkers of 1982
33:36
Quicklist
24,016 Views
At the Movies-Winners That Were Losers
32:12
Quicklist
9,671 Views
Dueling Critics (1983)
33:34
Quicklist
At the Movies 1983-Pryor to Murphy
33:08
Quicklist

Related Videos

The Postman Always Rings Twice, Back Roads, Private Eyes (1981)
28:59
Quicklist
Sneak Previews-Time Bandits, Pursuit of DB Cooper
29:05
Quicklist
5,406 Views
Movies That Changed the Movies (1979)
00:01
Quicklist
Roger Ebert’s Review of Massacre At Central High
03:40
Quicklist
12,516 Views
Sneak Previews - This Is Elvis (1981)
08:16
Quicklist
The Life and Death of the Black Movie (1981)
28:57
Quicklist
Sneak Previews - End Credits (1981)
00:46
Quicklist
Independent Films (1981)
28:22
Quicklist
Reds, My Dinner With Andre, Rolleover, Quartet  (1981)
29:02
Quicklist
Powered by ClipBucket 2.0.91 | Arslan Hassan